khamneithang

instigating a life, one story at a time…

Is the church a zoo?

Some church members are as stubborn as a mule about doing church work,
but as sly as a fox in their own business deals.

Some are as busy as a bee in spreading the latest gossip,
but as quiet as a mouse to spreading the gospel of Christ.

Many are as blind as a bat to see the needs of others,
but have eyes of a hawk to see the faults of a few.

Some are as eager as a beaver about a barbecue,
but as lazy as a dog about the prayer meetings.

Some will roar like a lion when things do not go just to suit them,
but they are as gentle as a lamb when they need the preacher of the church.

Some are as noisy as a blue jay when calling on the church for advice,
but as timid as a kitten about talking to the lost and as slow as a snail about visiting absentees and shut-ins.

Many are night owls on Saturday nights,
but “bed bugs” Sunday mornings,
and as scarce as hen’s teeth on Wednesday nights.Image

Single Post Navigation

69 thoughts on “Is the church a zoo?

  1. Debbie on said:

    This is funny and not , at the same time! haha! Thank you and God bless you!

  2. lenleatherwood on said:

    I am involved in my church and your words are so true! Thank you for following my blog. I appreciate that. I have returned the favor and look forward to reading more.

  3. If you’ve ever been involved in a church where 25% of the people do 75% of the work you know how deadly accurate this post is. What a sad testimony…no wonder so many people walk away from their faith.

    • In my church it is not even 25%, perhaps 5% would be the accurate figure. But unlike your part of the world, people do not leave the faith. They remained Christian all their life. And may be, they come to Church on December 25…

  4. ellieevensong on said:

    funny, sad, and true!!!!

  5. LOL! Very good – clever!

  6. I actually clicked on “Like” for two reasons: 1) I liked the poem, 2) My husband and I were just talking people doing “church as usual”. In fact we believe in church without walls-praying with one another, praying with and for others and giving. On Sundays we rest and honor God(this doesn’t really require church service) but we do fellowship at a Christian Prayer room weekly.

    Thank you for the poem and I like the image!

  7. bellesogni on said:

    In other words, Christians are the same as any other group.

  8. Great omments. You really hit the nail on the head about church members.

  9. Great blog.
    Thank you for following me.
    http://www.nadernazemi.com

  10. Tis funny and so true. That can be fixed, when they are called out in church one by one. But who would be brave enough to do so? I’ll volunteer! :-) Be Blessed!

  11. All very true! People in the church are much like groups of people anywhere, aren’t they? It’s a shame because we should be different but I think it’s a bit like one’s family. We tend to treat our families worse than our friends because we expect our family to love and like us no matter what.

    In many churches, if it weren’t for older, retired people, not much would get done. Younger people are working and have family commitments (although of course, there are lots of active young people as well.) We all need to do as much as we can in each season of our lives. As the saying goes, “We’re not perfect, just forgiven.” And a good thing, too!! :-)

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and many blessings to you!

  12. Hi- you describe so perfectly the attitude of most church-goers. It is a sad picture but how true at the same time. The cure of this (zoo description) is the hunger and thirst of God’s righteousness! On our own we cannot change our own ways, but with God’s help to transform our heart we learn to live satisfied, content, desiring His glory and not of ours. Thanks for posting. Do you mind if I pass this along to my friends too?

  13. Reblogged this on One Bondservant's Diary and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)Sadly, our lives reflect what our priorities are. There’s some really good, sad and funny insights in this re-blogged post.

  14. Excellent…and yet so sad. Gave my pause to think of my participation in my own parish. Thank you for the insight :)

  15. I found this a rather cute expression of what I feel is the biggest problem with organized religion today! Too many people feel that being a ‘church-goer’ automatically MAKES them a Christian! I carry Christ in my heart & try to follow his example in all areas of my life, however, I am not aligned with ANY organized religion simply because all too often the majority of the members are only paying lip service to our Lord, and relying solely on their affiliation with the church to provide their salvation.

  16. Clever writing! Thanks for following.

  17. peacefulone on said:

    The words are totally true…but our charge is to pray…for “us all.” I love you and I totally enjoyed it.

  18. Now, tell me please, why is it so important to do church work?
    And why must all believers do open verbal evangelism?
    What’s wrong with barbecues instead of meetings? Who likes meetings?
    And what is the purpose of sitting through an hour-long church service every Sunday if it’s mostly just empty gathering? Don’t you agree that if someone’s heart doesn’t want to go to church that week, then it probably won’t help if they feel obligated to go?

    I’d like to see how this turns out. Feel free to respond as you wish, because I’ll answer.

  19. I “Liked” this poem. Thanks for sharing it with us, and thanks for following my blog. I’ll share your post so others can see it too. Reading the comments you got on it has given me an idea for a new post.

  20. Pingback: On Running Away From Church « emariaenterprises

  21. A humorous take on the lukewarm….I once heard it said that it is better to share a church pew with a hypocrite rather than join them in hell….of course we aren’t the judge.

  22. Thanks for following my blog:). The church I go to has about 10 members on a “good Sunday” and your post is still relatable. It doesn’t matter the size of the church. My dad preaches “if everyone in the church was like me what kind of church would it be?”. No one is to blame for the star of the church. “Faith without works is dead”… Great post!!!

  23. The doing is the result of our personal relationship with God. Lately, in our church we started “prayer & fasting” for a week, our goal is to hunger and thirst for God. May I share with you all, wow! We are excited and we anticipate God to move ahead of us so that, we His people is equip and willing to “DO” all these work that He called us to do! We Christians need to wait and be still and know that He is God. I want to encourage you all, spend the time in prayers. What God impressed in my heart this week is “praise & worship”. I am in awe of HIM! Do you want to see God moving in your church? In your personal life? At the workplace? In your community and in your city? Then pray. Ask God to roll the curtain and open your eyes that you may see His vision. Enjoy God this week.

  24. Hello,your post is really good and thanks so much for your visit and following I hope you continue enjoying the post. Have a joyful day :D
    Love you brother

  25. :-/
    To quote Relient K:

    Christians– we mourn, the thorn is stuck
    in the side of the body watch it self-destruct.
    The enemy is much ignored
    when we fight this Christian civil war.

    We’re cannibals.
    We watch our brothers fall.
    We eat our own, the bones and all.

    Finally fell asleep on the plane
    to wake to see we’re going down in flames.

    We’re going down, down, down in flames.
    We’re gonna drown, drown, drown insane.

    We see the problem and the risk,
    but nothing’s solved.
    We just say, “Tisk, tisk, tisk,”
    and, “Shame, shame, shame.”

  26. This was so fun, while being achingly true!

  27. Funny and true. Good insight. Thanks for following my blog

  28. this is great!

  29. Yes, yes, yes, so true. My mom, we called her little momma because she was just barely 4’11” tall but in her quiet way always managed to make a huge point with just a few well spoken words. “A church”, she told us. “…is a place where people gather to praise and honor the lord” and then she added “but HE is there for us everywhere and what we do when we are not in the church should reflect that also!”

  30. Very funny but full of truth.

  31. Reblogged this on Grace Partakers and commented:
    Yep, the church is full of animals…

  32. Wonderful. Sad, but true. Thanks! Carley (aka lambskinny)

  33. Great post…thanks for following me…it’s said everyone wants to be famous in the kingdom of God but only a few want to put the work in…

  34. Love this entry. Funny and thought provoking. Thanks!

  35. Thank you for simply saying what needed to be said. God bless you sir!

  36. This post made me chuckle. I’m gonna figure out which animal I am, lol!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66,937 other followers

