khamneithang

instigating a life, one story at a time…

The wildflowers of life

It’s a familiar story.
And yes, it’s the oldest story in the world.

One fine day, you find yourself you’re seventeen, and you are planning for someday. And then quietly, without you ever really noticing someday is today. And then someday becomes yesterday. And yesterday soon becomes a story of long, long ago. And then the cycle of life ends. One soul gone, a life finished but a life unlived. This is the story of many lives.

How is your life-story unfolding? Is it being written by the hand of God? Or are you just simply pulling along?

Let me narrate an incident which happened earlier this week. I was at home scribbling notes when a knock on the door startled me as I did not expect any visitor. When I opened the door it was my high school English teacher who now must be in his late sixties. He was a bit frail, had an unkempt look and was out of sorts. I invited him to take a seat and we started on a journey which really unnerved me.

He has no biological children, but adopted four. There were no issues when he was younger and the children were small. But today, it is an altogether different situation. He has grown old, and the kids have grown up. Trust, faith, respect, love and all the good qualities that he wanted to imbide in his children were missing. In effect, he said, he was having a harrowing time, depressed and totally frustrated with life.

Sadly, this is the story of many lives and families. I don’t have answers to his problems. All I could do was listen… I selected three prized books in my library dealing with depression and life, and asked him to read it. I haven’t heard from him again, but I haven’t stopped praying for him.

Will life “unhook” you when you grow old? Are you prepared?Image

Single Post Navigation

29 thoughts on “The wildflowers of life

  1. Lord I pray that you would touch this sad man and help him find Your truth if he does not know you. I pray that you would bless him with hope. In Jesus name. Amen

  2. so true and so beautiful!

  3. this is a very sad tale….

  4. This is a Heavy duty post. And something to really think about.

  5. I know someone having the same problem, the kid is on her teens and not a single reward for the couple who adopted her was given, she breaks their heart each day. I’m beginning to think that we really can’t influence a person at all since they have been a good parents. Seems like their love wasn’t enough.

  6. I am dealing with these issues in some respects at age 64.

  7. http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

    I really liked this post, but It would be interesting to know what the names are of the books you gave this man. Thank you. Betty

  8. We can’t always find the right words or give the right answer, sometimes our hugs alone aren’t enough but, we can always pray. The prayers of the righteous avails much. When we pray to God we have to know that *He* has the right words, *He* gives the right answer and *He* alone is always enough. Your prayers for this man will do far more than anything else. That he came to you is very telling of the effect you’ve had on him at some point in time. I’ll pray for him as well and trust that God will see him through.

    Blessings,
    Rebecca

  9. As I read the beginning of your post, I felt that, perhaps, I was a fine example of what you spoke of. Then I remembered all the blessings I have received in my lifetime (most of it spent wandering all the wrong paths). When I read your recollections of your English teacher, I could not help but be thankful that, as wayward as I was in my parenting, I am still blessed with two fine sons (one of whom I share a home with) and five grandsons. I will keep your teacher in my prayers in the hopes that he is likewise blessed.

  10. Bless you for sharing those books with him. Years ago I passed on some Christian books to a friend because I felt led to. It turned out that her mother, who ended up with cancer, read them and came to know the Lord through those books before she died. I was so blessed when I heard about this later. ~ Wendy

  11. I’m moved by your former teacher’s situation. And like you said, ‘today’ comes pretty much faster than we know. But one thing i can say is that the foundation we lay for our kids today determines how they turn out in adulthood. If we want our kids to grow up with all the values that is good, we must start now.

  12. I’m so sorry to hear about your English teacher’s situation. What a blessing that you were there to answer his knock. You may never know how you helped him. Your question about our own preparation for growing old is something to meditate on.

  13. I love my life at 60 – not exactly what I’d planned for myself or my children, but when I sometimes glimpse how much God loves me – I believe he may just know what he’s doing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66,966 other followers

