khamneithang

instigating a life, one story at a time…

Nearing Home

nearing home cover

“All my life I was taught how to die as a Christian, but no one ever taught me how I ought to live in the years before I die. I wish they had because I am an old man now, and believe me, it’s not easy.”

As I read through the lines, I was almost overwhelmed with emotion. It is not easy to put pen to paper to describe the feelings that I had for him as I read Nearing Home: Life, Faith and Finishing Well by Billy Graham, twentieth century’s most famous preacher, often called “God’s Ambassador”.

In a touching narrative of his life as well as his personal experience of growing older, Billy Graham moves the reader to a point beyond description. Now in his 90s, he writes, “Growing old has been the greatest surprise of my life. I would have never guessed what God had in store for me, and I know that as I am nearing home, He will not forsake me the last mile of the way.”

Billy Graham is candid enough to admit that “old age is not for sissies” and he has made an effort to explore the challenges of aging from a personal and scriptural perspectives. The wisdoms and insights shared by Graham are likely to open the flood-gates to renewed interests in the subject of aging and care-giving.

Drawing lessons from the Bible and his own personal experiences, Graham says that old age may have its limitations and challenges, but in spite of them the sunset years can be some of the most rewarding and fulfilling period of a person’s life.

Fully aware that many older folks are dragging their lives without any hope of a better tomorrow, Billy Graham calls on all to await with great expectations the greatest triumph that is to come: experiencing victory over death that will usher all believers into the eternal presence of Lord Jesus Christ.

Nearing Home is not only a personal memoir, but also a book that teaches believers how to deal and cope with life in the latter years. There is so much to learn from this book as Billy Graham continues to teach and preach through each and every page – which will be a bit of a disappointment for many who would love to read more about him and not the message. But you can’t stop the man who has delivered the Gospel message to more people face-to-face than anyone in history, and who has ministered on every continent of the world in more than 185 countries, from preaching and teaching even in his sunset years.

Disclosure: The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through BookSneeze®

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Nearing Home

  1. “Love Does”…a book by Bob Goff teaches us ‘how to live in the years before [we] die’. It has some of the most encouraging words for us in Billy Graham’s same situation. Thanks for this thought provoking post!!

  2. What a comfort to know that our Heavenly Father will stand with us even through the toughest times!

  3. All the old people in my life (Great-grandparents, Grandparents, Great Aunts and Uncles and mentors, and I guess now my Mother who is 80) have all modelled for me that life is simply worth the living, never coast through life and don’t sit too long or you might stay like that. I am grateful indeed. I am pleased that you let me know that Billy Graham has added another book to his list. Continued blessings for you as you keep walking forward.

    • I got a copy of this book and read it through. Wonderful read for any adult, and includes the true Billy Graham hallmark, several calls to follow Jesus. Thanks again for drawing this to my attention. I have already passed the book on.
      Be blessed in what you are living.

  4. I to am a old man,but when i get to heaven i will have a new body THANK GOD FOR THIS PROMISE .

  5. Thanks so much for this post. I would never have thought to purchase this book but you have reminded me that there is much to learn from Billy Graham.

  6. I love Billy Graham’s comments about old age is not for sissies. Graham is an inspiration to many. Take care, BTG

  7. Good to see you blog again. May The Lord continue to renew you in his mercy and holy kindness.

  8. As I care for my disabled 88 year old mother I realize more and more what Brother Graham is saying. My Mom, though in good spirits now, went through a terrible time of accepting that she could no longer care for herself. She has always been strong in her faith, healed of three different kinds of cancer and witnessed always to lost souls that have come to Jesus.
    The one thing that has kept her and brought her through was a kind of vision. She seemed very near death and was laying on her bed looking at something we could not see, though she kept asking, Can’t you see it? God showed her heaven from a distance. She didn’t go over but he assured her that heaven is real and that when he calls her name she will be there. Her whole attitude changed. She still get discouraged now and again, but she cheers up and says, “Jesus didn’t call me today, but maybe tomorrow. He says he’ll let me know when it’s time.”
    I don’t have space here, but her ‘look’ into heaven was awe inspiring.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66,966 other followers

